Information - Stones - Anniversaries

Giving a piece of gemstone jewellery to mark important wedding anniversaries can be a wonderful way to celebrate. Each wedding anniversary is celebrated with a different gemstone. This custom is thought to have originated in Germany. Wives were given a wreath of silver on their 25th wedding anniversaries, which was said to represent the harmony needed for a marriage to last this long! After fifty years, a golden wreath was presented; giving birth to modern silver and gold wedding anniversaries.

More recently, other materials have come to represent other landmark years. There are two Diamond Anniversaries – one at 60 years and the other at 75. The 75th is the original diamond anniversary, with the 60th being added when Queen Victoria celebrated her Diamond Jubilee on the 60th anniversary of accession to the throne.

Anniversary Gemstones

1st Anniversary: Gold
2nd Anniversary: Garnet
3rd Anniversary: Pearls
4th Anniversary: Topaz
5th Anniversary: Sapphire
6th Anniversary: Amethyst
7th Anniversary: Onyx
8th Anniversary: Tourmaline
9th Anniversary: Lapis Lazuli
10th Anniversary: Diamond
11th Anniversary: Turquoise
12th Anniversary: Jade
13th Anniversary: Citrine
14th Anniversary: Opal
15th Anniversary: Ruby
16th Anniversary: Peridot
17th Anniversary: Watches
18th Anniversary: Cat's-Eye Chrysoberyl
19th Anniversary: Aquamarine
20th Anniversary: Emerald
21st Anniversary: Iolite
22nd Anniversary: Spinel
23rd Anniversary: Imperial Topaz
24th Anniversary: Tanzanite
25th Anniversary: Silver Jubilee
30th Anniversary: Pearl Jubilee
35th Anniversary: Emerald
40th Anniversary: Ruby
45th Anniversary: Sapphire
50th Anniversary: Golden Jubilee
55th Anniversary: Alexandrite
60th Anniversary: Diamond Jubilee
70th Anniversary: Sapphire Jubilee
80th Anniversary: Ruby Jubilee